Carr, different attorneys normal condemn assault on Capitol | Information

ATLANTA – Attorney General Chris Carr joined a bipartisan coalition of 50 states, territories, and the District of Columbia on Wednesday by sending a letter to acting US Attorney General Jeffrey A. Rosen describing the January 6 uprising in the US Capitol condemned and declared such actions must not go unchecked.

The letter, directed in part by Colorado Attorney General Phil Weiser, District of Columbia Attorney General Karl Racine, Idaho Attorney General Lawrence Wasden, and Nebraska Attorney General Doug Peterson, reads in part:

“We, the undersigned Attorneys General, are committed to protecting public safety, the rule of law and the US Constitution. We are appalled that on January 6, 2021, rioters broke into the U.S. Capitol, defaced the building, and committed a variety of criminal acts – including illegal entry, theft, destruction of U.S. government property, and assault. Worst of all, the riot resulted in the deaths of people, including a U.S. Capitol Police officer, and others who were physically injured. Apart from this damage, the actions of the rioters temporarily disrupted government operations of the most sacred kind in our system – confirming the result of a presidential election.

“We have all just had a very dark day in America. The events of January 6th pose a direct physical challenge to the rule of law and to our democratic republic itself. Together, we will continue to do our part to repair the damage that has been done to institutions.” and build a more perfect union.As Americans and those in charge of enforcing the law, we must come together to condemn lawless violence and make it clear that such acts cannot go unchecked.

“Thank you for looking into and working on this critical priority.”

Carr was accompanied by attorneys general of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Columbia District, Florida, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan , Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee , Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Leave a Comment